Thought Partners

Experts in the field advising us how to support and strengthen teaching and learning in Oregon’s K-12 classroom

Advisory Council

The Advisory Council is a group of education and business leaders from throughout Oregon who provide ongoing counsel and feedback on key education policy issues, as well as on specific Chalkboard initiatives.

Randy Hitz, Advisory Council President
Dean, Graduate School of Education, Portland State University

Lindsey Capps
Chief of Staff, Legislative Director
Office of the Chief Education Officer

Kelly Devlin
Director of ESL & Equity, David Douglas School District

Larry Didway
Superintendent, Oregon City School District

Ana Gomez-Diazgranados
Juntos Program State Coordinator OSU, Oregon Open Campus

Don Grotting
Superintendent, Beaverton School District

Michelle Hooper
Chief of Staff, Oregon Department of Education

Mark Jackson
Co-founder and Vice President, REAP, Inc.

Todd Jones
Teacher, West Linn High School

Nori Juba
Bend-La Pine School District

Pamela Knowles
Executive Director of Industry Relations, OSU College of Business
Board Member, Portland Public Schools

Annette Mattson
Government Affairs/Public Policy Specialist, Portland General Electric

Shay Mikalson
Superintendent, Bend-La Pine School District

Ford Morishita
Retired Teacher/STEM

Kevin Noreen
Human Resources Director, Forest Grove School District

Julie O’Dwyer
Oregon City parent and Stand for Children Leader

Corrine Oishi
Board Member, Oregon Community Foundation 

Krista Parent
Superintendent, South Lane School District

Christy Perry
Superintendent, Salem-Keizer Public Schools

Linda Samek
Dean, School of Education, George Fox University

Matt Utterback
Superintendent, North Clackamas Schools

Anthony Veliz
President, IZO Marketing, and State School Board Member

Distinguished Leaders Council

The Distinguished Leaders Council, commissioned by Chalkboard Project in 2014, develops and publishes recommendations based on national research, best practices, and a candid appraisal of Oregon’s current practices in leader preparation. The DLC is comprised of 16 members, and led by Krista Parent, superintendent of the South Lane School District and 2007 National Superintendent of the Year.

Cheryl K. Brown
Education Leadership Specialist, Confederation of Oregon School Administrators

Matt Coleman, D.Ed.
Assistant Superintendent, Springfield Public Schools

Colt Gill
Superintendent, Bethel School District

Ericka Guynes
Principal, Earl Boyles Elementary/David Douglas School District

Bob King
Principal, Crater Renaissance Academy

Jay Mathisen
Assistant Superintendent, Bend-La Pine Schools

Susie Orsborn
Principal, West Albany High School

Erin Prince, EdD
Superintendent, Corvallis School District

Krista Parent
Superintendent, South Lane School District

Bill Rhoades
Superintendent, West Linn-Wilsonville School District

Tracie Renwick
Administrator Coach, Redmond School District

Carlos Sequeria
Director of District-Wide Collaboration, Bethel School District

Kathleen Sundell
President, Salem Keizer Education Association

Sally J. Storm, PhD
Superintendent, McKenzie School District

Iton Udosenata
Principal, Cottage Grove High School, South Lane School District

Distinguished Educators Council

The Distinguished Educators Council was organized by Chalkboard to develop specific recommendations for supporting and strengthening the teaching profession and ensuring that Oregon is a great place to teach. 

Allan Bruner
Colton High School, Colton School District

Cassandra Barnes
Sojourner School, North Clackamas School District

Liz Beazizo
Librarian-West Salem High School

Ingrid Ceballos
Mary Eyre Elementary School, Salem-Keizer School District

Jodie Harnden
Sunridge Middle School, Pendleton School District

Michael Mann
Dexter McCarty Middle School, Gresham-Barlow School District

Mary McGinnis
Tillamook Options Program School, Tillamook School District

Teresa Seidel
Robert Gray Middle School, Portland Public School District

Jessica Smith
West Albany High School, Greater Albany Public Schools

Cass Thonstad
Newberg High School, Newberg School District

Donna Van Deurzen
Camas Ridge Community School, Eugene School District

Rena Wagner
Silver Crest Elementary School, Silver Falls School District

Kevin Zerzan
Gladstone High School, Gladstone School District

Members of the DLC at a 2015 meeting